RSS

WHY JAPAN Part II of II

22 Sep


Part I of WHY JAPAN? was yesterday. I plunked a down payment on a second trip to Egypt and Israel.I was looking forward to cruising the Nile and stopping at the temples. And I was planning to stay in the great pyramid as long as I could.

*

Then 911 happened.

*

The tour company, the government, everyone said it wasn’t safe to go.

*

I didn’t need to be told twice. Japan was recommended as a country with very little crime.

*

It’s true, if you forget your purse on a park bench, someone will coming running after you to give it back to you.

*

Japanese merchants are honest and upfront about prices and flaws in any merchandise. It would be counterproductive to their goals to be otherwise.

*

I visited a man’s coffee shop that had museum quality antiques in the shop and upstairs in the building. He didn’t have locks or an alarm system.

*

So, I went to Japan and found the comparison between Egypt and Japan like trying to compare grandchildren. They are each terrific and there is no lack .

*

I had a wonderful time and came home and wrote this article.

*

A few years later my beloved mother in law died. My husband gave me some of his inheritance and told me to spend it on myself.

*

I went to Japan again. It was sublime.

*

And now I am retired and wanted to go to Japan again while I am able to travel and living in Hawaii, I am halfway there already.

*

So, I’m off again on October 18 for 16 days of revisiting my favorite places and seeing some new ones.

*

Thanks for listening.

*

© 2010 Jeanne Litt

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

12 responses to “WHY JAPAN Part II of II

  1. denise

    September 22, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    i can’t wait to hear about your trip! i know nothing about japan and enjoyed this “why” (like the grandchildren analogy!)…

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      Thanks. Blogging about Japan makes me happy.

       
  2. ~ifer

    September 23, 2010 at 4:13 am

    I hope you have a wonderful trip! You know I will be there in spirit.

    I took a trip this past weekend to the historic plantation homes in Louisiana… hopefully I can get pictures up tomorrow from that trip.

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      Travel is so expanding.
      Okay, I’ll be thinking of you there with me.

       
  3. Petty Witter

    September 23, 2010 at 5:20 am

    Catching up with all the blogger buddies I haven’t had a chance to visit in a while. Japan – how exciting.

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks Petty Witter. It is good to catch up, great to hear form you. XD

       
  4. Thea Phipps

    September 23, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Congratulations on trip 3! Have fun!

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      Thanks Thea I will.

       
  5. Holly

    September 23, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I love how sometimes plans get skewed but in the end, you get what you really needed in the first place! I always wondered what your connection with Japan was, but I assumed it had something to do with Hawaii.

    Enjoy your trip! Can’t wait to see photos and updates.

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      Thanks Holly. I agree, serendipity is so good.

       
  6. Jen C.

    September 24, 2010 at 3:40 am

    Totally agree with you about Japan 🙂 It’s not my number one reason for why I love living here but the safety here is definitely up there on the list. It’s a little sad but the crime rates have gone up a little bit in Japan in recent years. A lot of it has to do with this generation of adults. They’re just not as honest as their ancestors were. However, it’s still a lot safer here than it is in a lot of countries, US included.

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      Yes, so safe and such great service. My favorite thing is the aesthetics.

      In Egypt, they told us that people always want to hire the Nubian tribe members because they are known for their honesty.

       

Leave a Reply

