RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

24 Sep


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

Erika also has a new contest for blog writers here. It’s a brilliant idea and enough to make one feel good. Erika talks about her inspiration for the contest that came from Mommy On The Spot blog where there are some very touching posts: the kind of humanness that is so endearing and lets us know we are not alone.

*

My feel good Friday today is about doing something for someone else.

*

My daughter teaches 4th grade and she noticed that her students try to sharpen their pencils during quiet time for reading. She thought if she had a little cover to put over the pencil sharpeners, it would be a gentle reminder not to do that.

*

I crocheted her two covers and I loved them. They are made out of a beautiful variegated yarn color called sea grass.

*

I don;’t have a picture of them, but here are photos of 8 more I made. The other teachers in her grade level liked them, so I made some more.

*

*

My first one for a teacher with an orange reading chair.

*

They evolved to this one made with yarn made from recycled water bottles and I added a loop, because of Holly’s memory of playing with yogurt sweaters with loops.

Holly talked about making sweaters for keeping the yogurt warm while it ‘grows.’ I realize I can make them the same as these pencil sharpener covers and make them taller.

*

*

© 2010 Jeanne Litt

 
20 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2010 in How to

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Jackie B Central Texas

    September 24, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Always nice when something “small” not only brings back fond memories but is such a “big” help to someone else!

    I love crocheting little items, just like small cross-stitch projects the pleasure of finished product far outweighs the work it takes to make it….
    jackie ^_^

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      So true. I love small projects too. No project too small.

       
  2. Jb

    September 24, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Now there’s an idea I’ve never heard of before! You better patent that right away! Just think of the contract you could get…to provide them to all the schools!

     
    • purplume

      September 24, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      Well, it’s my brilliant daughter’s idea. She is creative.

      OMG, could I be rich?

       
  3. Holly

    September 24, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I love the pencil sharpener covers! That is such a cute idea. What a nice reminder.

    And I agree…just a bit longer, and they make a perfect yogurt container cover.

    I clearly need to learn to crochet! I have discontinued my knitting classes because of the move, but I will look into it in our new home.

     
  4. purplume

    September 24, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I’m sure you could knit them too. I never learned how to knit on a circular needle and keep coiling around. That would be fun to learn.

     
  5. kortney

    September 25, 2010 at 5:39 am

    What a great idea! Its like the pencil sharpeners have been hugged! 🙂 Love the little things!

     
    • purplume

      September 25, 2010 at 9:52 am

      Thanks Kortney. I love the idea. Hugs.

       
  6. sparkling

    September 25, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Your daughter should read my post from a few days ago about sharpening pencils… the cover is cute but I am confused. Is it to keep the sharpener quiet or to remind them that this is not the time to sharpen pencils? Like the sharpener is “closed” for reading time?

     
    • purplume

      October 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm

      It’s the latter Sparkling. It’s a reminder not to sharpen during reading time.
      I read your post. Arrgh. aggravating sounds are so hard to take, especially when you have to stay in proximity and keep on hearing them.
      All the best to you.

       
  7. sparkling

    September 25, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Sorry, this is my proper blog link here. I’m sparkling, not sparking!

     
  8. Petty Witter

    September 26, 2010 at 2:57 am

    An international problem it would seem, we also had this difficulty. What a great solution.

     
    • purplume

      October 1, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      Really. It’s what my daughter is noted for, ideas that get the point across gently.Wish I could say she got that from me. XD

       
  9. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    September 26, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    That’s a great idea and surely just enough of a reminder!

     
    • purplume

      October 1, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      Yes, I think so too.

       
  10. joann Mannix

    September 27, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Those pencil sharpener holders are adorable. The art of crocheting is such a lovely thing. I go weak in the knees for anything crocheted. It reminds me of my grandma who could make the most beautiful things with her crochet needles.

     
    • purplume

      October 1, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      Oh how nice. some things are so beautiful. As for me, I like to use ‘bumpy’ yarn so my mistakes don’t show as much.

       
  11. The Girl Next Door Grows Up

    September 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    It made me Feel Good reading that you sent those stickers to Holly!!!! You are such a sweetheart! I remember her writing about that.

     
    • purplume

      October 1, 2010 at 4:53 pm

      Thanks Erika. It was fun and living on an island, I understand hard-to-get things. XD

       
  12. Denise

    October 9, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    What a neat idea! I’m going to try and knit some little animals in my son’s Waldorf preschool but they probably won’t be done until he is in high school! 😦
    Hoping to try out erica’s contest one of these days…great idea! Thx for sharing and always being so good at connecting!

     

Leave a Reply

