RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

01 Oct


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

Erika also has a new contest for blog writers here. It’s a brilliant idea and enough to make one feel good. Erika talks about her inspiration for the contest that came from Mommy On The Spot blog where there are some very touching posts: the kind of humanness that is so endearing and lets us know we are not alone.

*

I’m very happy because i e-mailed a friend explaining where I am with our relationship.

*

Then I obsessed and worried. Every time it came up, which was often, I said a prayer for us.

*

I used to be such a people pleaser. Lately, especially this year. I’ve been pleasing myself. It is very interesting to see who is left standing.

*

My friend understood. She said that kind of openness from me is what she was wanting.

*

Oh joy. Now I am flooded with how much she means to me and grateful that we have each other, and I have myself.

*

P.S. Yesterday I told my husband I was enjoying our breakfast time together. He said,

Yes, we’re in morning together.

*

Have your best week ever.

*

© 2010 Jeanne Litt </p

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. The Girl Next Door Grows Up

    October 1, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Ha! to your husband’s comment!!!

    Oh please say a prayer for me. Tyler and I have decided to move to a smaller town. Our city is 70,000 and we plan to move to a town that is 7,000 and I am SO excited. I have always wanted a better house and a better neighborhood and smaller schools, however because my parents live next door I have always put off moving until they die.

    But I could be 50+ years old when they die! And I want my dreams to come true NOW, not later. Not to mention I have had IT with our school district here. They are not spelling until November because spelling isn’t covered on the National Testing and that makes me angry.

    Oh, this is so hard. My mom is not happy at all. She can barely speak to me without me hearing the diappointment in her voice.

    I keep telling her that I have to make a choice for my family, not for both families. I can’t stay here for them. I have to do what is right for us.

    They could always move too. We even offered to buy a few acres so they could build a house on our lot, but they didn’t want to.

    We are only 20 minutes away. It is not like we are moving to another state!

    So, I understand what you mean about pleasing people. I wish I could please them too, but you have no idea how I wake up in the morning and I smile because in my head I see our new town.

    She is a smart lady so I know she will come around and understand, but I just hope it is soon! I hate hearing her disappointment.

     
    • purplume

      October 3, 2010 at 9:30 am

      I am praying for you all. That is a challenge. I do believe that we have to do what works for us or we’re stuck in what doesn’t work.
      Like you say, they will come around.
      If I were your mother I might be torturing myself thinking if I were better then you wouldn’t be going. I hope she doesn’t do that or something like it to herself.
      Your reasons and goals are very clear, I support you in your decision.
      I raised my children in a town of 10,000. It was great. It felt like you knew everyone, although I didn’t.

       
  2. Holly

    October 1, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Good for you Purplume for not people-pleasing anymore! It’s hard, because I think society trains us to do that, and I know I did it for many years. It’s one of the many things I’ve learned from my boyfriend. He doesn’t people-please at all. He just is the way he is (which is nice and funny), but he does his own thing and not what others expect or want of him. And they just have to learn to deal with it! It’s much happier to be genuine and not try to please others all the time.

    And Erika, your mom will get over her disappointment. You two have a fantastic relationship, and you really won’t be all that far away. If you do what is best for you and your family, it will all work out in the end. Hang in there!

    Hugs to you both!! Happy weekend!

     
    • purplume

      October 3, 2010 at 9:32 am

      Thanks Holly. My husband is not a people pleaser at all. It is actually very convenient because you know right where he is at.
      I think girls especially are often raised that way. 😄

       
  3. Dollycas

    October 1, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Love hubby’s comment, mine is driving me crazy today! Will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Have a great weekend!!

    Dollycas

     
    • purplume

      October 3, 2010 at 9:33 am

      Thanks Dollycas. Yes great weekends to all of us.

       
  4. Cherylann Marois

    October 1, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    I want to thank you for being there and sending me encouragement and kind words over the last few months. You are in my prayers every night. I loved your husbands comment it was amusing and gave me my first smile in awhile. Take care, don’t fret and know that you are appreciated beyond words.

     
    • purplume

      October 3, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Aww thanks Cherylann. I am touched by your kind words and grateful for the prayers. oxox

       
  5. Terry Elisabeth @ Québécoise et bilingue

    October 2, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    I was worried the blog had closed. I have been trying and trying to come by from my RSS feeder and kept getting WordPress’ message asking me if I wanted a blog jbvadeboncour.wordpress.com.

    About your post, YEEE!! It feels so good to be open and honest and see that from it comes something good. I’m happy for you.

     
    • purplume

      October 3, 2010 at 9:36 am

      Thanks Terry Elisabeth.
      I’m sorry you had so much trouble and grateful that you persevered.

      I let go of my domain name and I guess it took a while to adjust.
      It does feel so good and free to be real. Yeee! to all of us.

       
  6. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    October 3, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I think when we’re happy it’s easier to please the people around us. At least I hope so!

     
    • purplume

      October 3, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      ooh I like this. I hope so to.

       
  7. Petty Witter

    October 4, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Loving the comment your husband made.

     
  8. raisinganarmy

    October 4, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Good for you for reining in your desire to be a people-pleaser! I was the same way for most of my life but recently realized that when I tried to please everyone I pleased no one and the person who suffered the most was me. Now I please myself first and everyone else falls in step with it! The people who are really my friends don’t expect me to bend to their every whim and the people who do expect it aren’t really my friends! Have a wonderful week!

    (Also, your husband’s comment gave me a good giggle! Thanks for sharing it!)

     

Leave a Reply

