RSS

Buddhist Prayer Flags

06 Oct

When my neighbor moved in next door, about a year ago, he put flags like these on his house. It gets very windy here.

I asked him about them. He said they are Buddhist prayer flags. Wherever you put them, the prayers are released. The flags gradually deteriorate. The prayers are offered to the universe until they are gone.

The fabric is delicate and has prayers written on it..

I was intrigued and looked for some while I was on the mainland. I found some at Disney in animal kingdom and passed on them. Then at World Market I found these ones in the picture.

I hung them in my yard and love the idea of more prayers going out in my neighborhood.

This is how the ones on my neighbor’s house look now. They have faded and mostly disintegrated.

A blessing on your house and your loving ones.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2010 in Abundance

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Buddhist Prayer Flags

  1. Mommy on the Spot

    October 6, 2010 at 8:24 am

    I love this idea. Thank you for sharing. I think this is something I would like to do and learn more about.

     
    • purplume

      October 6, 2010 at 8:57 am

      Thank you MOTS. I scheduled a post about some other prayer items for October 22 when I am traveling.

       
  2. Petty Witter

    October 6, 2010 at 8:39 am

    What a lovely idea.

     
    • purplume

      October 6, 2010 at 8:55 am

      Yes, I am in favor of prayer in every way.

       
  3. Heather

    October 7, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    That is pretty neat. I’m going to have to look into those. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:23 pm

      You’re welcome Heather.
      XD

       
  4. Claireyh

    October 8, 2010 at 12:47 am

    You know, I have seen these hundreds of times, but never in a shop and never knew the true meaning.

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      It would be interesting to have a translation of the prayers. Since I don’t, I imagine them to say whatever I want. like send a buyer for our house.

       
  5. Jb

    October 19, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Neat! I like that you imagine them to say whatever you want. I’m sure it is your intention that counts, regardless of what the flag actually says…right?

     

Leave a Reply

