RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

08 Oct


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

I am feeling so good about the fact that When I became so absorbed in a book I have been reading: I had the opportunity to drop everything and just read yesterday.

I finished the book, except the epilogue. It was so good, I didn’t want to stop reading. I laid outside on a lounge chair and read. Life doesn’t get much better.

The book is THE HELP.

The book is about the lives of black housekeepers in the south in the 60’s. It is an exquisite balance of the ugly and the beautiful. I liked it even though the author sidesteps sexual abuse.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Beverly@Beverly's Back Porch

    October 8, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    I just finished reading The Help. I just loved it, and like you could not put it down. I adore Dorothea Benton Frank also and am reading her Lowcountry Summer. Happy reading!

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      Thanks for the recommendation Beverly.

       
  2. Jackie B Central Texas

    October 8, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Glad you stopped by my FGF post earlier, I have been back to lurking a lot lately and not blog hopping much to comment anywhere…

    Like you have finally gotten my mitts on a book that has me not moving and enjoying the story so much that it will be a shock to my system when it is done! Of course since the book I am reading is one of a series have been following for years and it is the last book it will also make me cry when finished!

    Have a nice weekend and an even better next week!

    jackie ^_^

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Yes, Jackie, a good series ending is even worse than a good book ending.

       
  3. Jb

    October 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Aha! There you are! Glad your blog didn’t really go away!

    This sounds like a great book! Wish I would have the time to read it, but it’s probably only going to be textbooks for awhile 😦
    (I like the stuff you recommend though, so I’ll store it away in the deep recesses. Oh…watched The Cove awhile ago after you posted about it. Awesome documentary! I think that guy might be my newest hero!)

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      Yes Jb, he’s my hero too. Thank you for putting out the effort to find me.XD

       
  4. Renee Ann Smith

    October 8, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    The Help is one of my favorite books! I made my sisters and best friends read it, too!

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      Ya, it’s a good one to share. I don’t think my husband would like it though, not enough action, too chickish.

       
  5. Tami

    October 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    I read that book last spring and it is one of my favorite books! I was actually sad when it was done…I just didn’t want to stop reading, it was such a good story!

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:32 pm

      Yes, I was sorry to see it end to except that then I could talk to my hubby again.

       
  6. Erika

    October 10, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I hate it when I come to the end of a good book. I try to read slower, but it is hard.

     
    • purplume

      October 10, 2010 at 12:33 pm

      I’ve gad that happen too, I’m rushing through and see it’s ending and savor it more. XD

       
  7. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    October 10, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I loved it too, although I couldn’t put it down for a different reason. I took it out from the library and they only lend the good books for 7 days with no renewals. I felt like that thing was glued to me by the end! Luckily it’s good enough to read constantly.

     
  8. Heather

    October 10, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    I miss that feeling of being able to sit back and tune out the world and just read. I can’t even remember the last time I finished reading a book.

     

Leave a Reply

