RSS

Travel Japan – Day 1 Lunch at Izusen

17 Nov

This flower greeted me on my way into Izusen. It is a vegetarian restaurant at Daitokuji Temple. They serve the food in red lacquer bowls called teppatsu. The elaborate style of eating is called teppatsu-ryori.

We ate inside sitting Japanese style and this was our window view.

The first serving was this:

At 6 o’clock in the picture is I believe fried tofu on a little stick and at 5 o’clock is a chestnut. At 7 o’clock looks like a mushroom wrapped, but I could be mistaken. I forget what was under the porcelain lid to the left.

Tofu in some shoyu sauce and garnish.

The colored leaf in the center is gluten and that may be fried gluten at 12 o’clock. There is seaweed at 6 o’clock and some yummy vegetable between that and the snow pea, the top layer skimmed off tofu at 9 o’clock. I liked everything I was served at this meal. I am not vegetarian, but this was an excellent meal in terms of taste and the variety of textures and flavors the Japanese are famous for .

Two of my favs, I think it was rice with mushrooms on the left  and vegetable tempura on the right.

Pickles, a part of most Japanese meals. They are varied in crunchiness and taste.

Soup, it likely includes tofu.

Rice.

Tea was served with the meal and  plum wine.

At the end they all stack.

The bathroom sink has bamboo in the bottom.

There is outdoor garden seating too.

I would eat there every day. The menu changes with the availability of seasonal items. It cost 3150 yen or about $37.75

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2010 in Abundance, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Travel Japan – Day 1 Lunch at Izusen

  1. Angelia Sims Hardy

    November 17, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    Yum!! Delicious and presented beautifully. I would eat there every day too. The garden is charming.

     
    • purplume

      November 21, 2010 at 8:08 am

      Thank you Angelia, yes you would get some beautiful shots there.

       
  2. Jen C.

    November 18, 2010 at 2:28 am

    OMG! I ATE THERE BEFORE! I’m so excited to see a place that I recognize that I’m jumping up and down at my computer 🙂 In fact, I sat at that exact table outdoors with the group I was with! I remember those statues in the background 🙂 They have the most delicious food, don’t they? Very unique and even though they were small portions, I was so full before we even made it to the last dish. I also love how all the dishes stacked inside of each other! It helped make it easier to fit all those dishes onto our table. I’m glad that you liked it 🙂

     
    • purplume

      November 21, 2010 at 8:10 am

      OMG THAT IS SO COOL, that we have this shared experience.
      Those dishes were memorable to me too. The people at Esprit suggested this place and I didn’t know it by name but I said, “Oh is that the place with the dishes that stack?” And it was and was even better than I remembered.

       
  3. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    November 18, 2010 at 4:41 am

    I’m not an adventurous eater. I’m fairly sure I’d starve to death in Japan. It does look interesting!

     
  4. purplume

    November 21, 2010 at 8:13 am

    It might help if they told what each thing is and you’d know if you might like it or not. There were people on a previous tour I took and they had American style food when they had the opportunity.

     

Leave a Reply

