RSS

Taking Time For Myself.

20 Nov

Passion Flower (aka Clock Flower) by Hamed Saber

 

One of the challenges of getting older is the opportunity to get stronger in all kinds of ways.

*

Many people think because you are retired, you have lots of time to spare. Hey folks, I get 24 hours a day, same as you.

*

I’ve been the kind of person who makes lists of more things than are possible to do in a given amount of time.

*

Lately, a great joy in my life has been to chose the one most important thing to accomplish each day, do that and then decide my next step.

*

Being more relaxed makes those people who think you have endless time, think it even more so.

*

Luckily, with all this practice I am getting good at explaining that I plan my day in specific ways and focus and I am not open to interruptions that are not of my choosing.

*

 

emilywjones

 

It feels empowering. I have never been a person with too much time on my hands and I like it this way.

*
I just completed Nanowrimo – wrote 50,000 words of a novel, got a late start and still finished 10 days early. I love it. It is such a great excuse to spend all my time writing. I clear my schedule of anything expendable.

*

I love taking time for myself to love and be loved. That is where I want my time used and totally of my choosing.

*

What do you want your time for?

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2010 in Abundance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Taking Time For Myself.

  1. Sandra

    November 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    You did NaNoWriMo! You are officially my hero…and you finished it with time to spare! I am not worthy I am not worthy!

     
    • purplume

      November 26, 2010 at 11:43 am

      Yes, I avoid last minute pressure. No to cut about 3/4 of the 50K words.

       
  2. Jen C.

    November 22, 2010 at 2:45 am

    I think it’s great that you take time for yourself and find things to occupy your day with 🙂 I find that keeping yourself busy in an organized way helps keep you young and lively because your brain is constantly working.

     
    • purplume

      November 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

      I agree Jen. I want to learn Kanji.

       
  3. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    November 22, 2010 at 4:16 am

    Congratulations on finishing your novel – 10 days early too! I focus on getting one thing done each day so I can feel productive. I’m not sure that’s the same thing that you’re talking about!

    I had read online about the tea tree oil and have added it to all our shampoo. Fingers crossed that it really works.

     
    • purplume

      November 26, 2010 at 11:45 am

      Oh Joey, I hope the tea tree oil works too, to make it so the little buggers don’t want to come near.

      I always thought that about exercising. If I did it early, I felt like I have accomplished something.

       
  4. Cherylann

    December 6, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Check Etsy as a possibility of a work from home option. You can sell your crafts there. Congrats on finishing your novel.

     

Leave a Reply

