RSS

Travel Japan – Nishiki Market

24 Nov

 

By np & djjewell

One of my favorite places to visit in Kyoto is Nishiki Food Market.

It’s an open air market that covers a few blocks and is full of interesting things.

by np & djjewell

Roasted chestnuts.

by EverJean

Wasabi.

by EverJean

All manner of fish.

by Jaybergesen

Squid.

by EverJean

Japanese knives are sold here, from a shop that comes highly recommended.

My favorite thing to buy there is sesame tofu. Yes, it’s made from sesame instead of soybeans. They sell it fresh and pack it with a little cooler insert to keep it cold. They also sell it dried, so you can make it at home. I bought some. Now to figure out the directions.

Oh and socks. I bought some 100% silk socks. They keep your feet warm in winter and cool in summer. I did a lot of walking and they are extremely comfortable. They make my feet feel very happy and princess like.

by yomi955

These grapes are so yummy and huge.

On the left are some little balls you add to soup and on the right wasabi covered something. I’m waiting until I have company at Christmas to try these.

My neighbor asked me to bring him back some yuzu kosho. It’s a spice, I tasted some that was whole. It looked like a pale green caper and it was very flavorful. There is some in the green tube and in the foil to the right is some that is ‘hot’. At the top left are some colored sesame seeds. I want to try them on some home made bread. And to the top right in the foil is a seasoning for chicken.

My Christmas meals will be interesting.

by dany13

At the very end of the street is a Shinto temple. It has fresh water from a spring and is a good place to refill your water bottle.

Have your best Thanksgiving ever.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2010 in Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Travel Japan – Nishiki Market

  1. Jen C.

    November 25, 2010 at 1:34 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Wow, you sure did buy a lot of unique items 🙂 I’m glad you like the food Japan has to offer. I know many people who would have been squeamish if they visited Nishiki market.

     
    • purplume

      November 26, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Thanks, yes I loved looking at all the things and hearing the shopkeepers call out. I love hearing Japanese spoken.

       
  2. Petty Witter

    November 25, 2010 at 6:19 am

    sesame tofu – sounds yummy and certainly much tastier than the normal soybean variety. As for silk socks? Talk abour sheer luxury.

     
    • purplume

      November 26, 2010 at 12:05 pm

      I agree, the sesame tofu seems creamier and more satisfying to me.
      Yes the socks were so comforting. I did a lot of walking.

       

Leave a Reply

