RSS

Travel Japan – The Master of Gold Leaf

30 Nov

See the complete post here.

Noguchi-san a 5th generation gold leaf master

 

 

 

In the afternoon of my first day in Kyoto, Kiyo took me to the museum of Noguchi-san. I was going to see how he designs obi with gold leaf. I expected to find that he takes gold leaf and presses it onto fabric and then uses the fabric to make obi. The reality was much more interesting than I imagined.

When I walked in his workroom I said,

You have the sun in here.

The sun was shining and these obi with gold leaf were catching it.

Noguchi-san uses gold leaf and other metals for different colors.

The pieces of gold or silver leaf are mad by putting a small piece of precious metal under a paper and pounding it thin. It ends up this size.

He uses brushes made out of woman’s hair.

This block of wood has tightly packed hair running through the entire thing. He ‘sharpens’ it like a pencil as it wears down.

More on this another day. I just lost the rest of this post.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2010 in Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Travel Japan – The Master of Gold Leaf

  1. Claireyh

    December 1, 2010 at 1:21 am

    Wow, this is amazing, what a great thing to see, thanks for sharing.

    And thank you again for such kind words on my blog post today, it really means a lot that people take the time to read and comment. Thank you.

     
  2. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    December 1, 2010 at 4:53 am

    Fascinating! I think it’s amazing to watch just about anything being made.

     
  3. Jen C.

    December 2, 2010 at 2:15 am

    Wow, I never knew about this process! It’s weird how you’ve experience so much more of the traditional Japanese culture than I have and I live here! I’m looking forward to the rest of this process! Can’t wait to see how he makes the obi with gold leaf 🙂

     
    • purplume

      December 5, 2010 at 3:07 pm

      Thank you all. Jen, It’s all because of Steve Beimel and his passion for the Japanese culture and his skill at arranging trips.
      I feel like a princess because I got to go and enjoy so many things.

       

Leave a Reply

