RSS

TRAVEL JAPAN – Tenryuji Temple

08 Dec

After leaving the Imperial Villa, I went to the Arashiyama district to visit Tenryuji Temple.

It has beautiful gardens surrounding a pond with a trail around the pond and through the woods.

 

 

I sat for quite a while enjoying the view and the carp swimming.

This old tree is supported.

These stones are meant to represent a waterfall flowing into the pond.

People came and went and I stayed.

An older teen boy asked me in perfect English, with a British accent, if I was there by myself. I said yes, that I was there before and wanted to see it again.

He said the day his school class came to this World Heritage site, he had an attack of appendicitis and had surgery instead of a class trip. He was there now, for the first time.

I told him, I was planning to go to a flea market next but I wondered if it might be canceled  because it was raining. He took out his cell phone and made some calls and said it would be there rain or shine.

This was greatly appreciated by me. I wanted to go and see what they had AND it would have been a bummer to miss it.

 

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2010 in Abundance, garden, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “TRAVEL JAPAN – Tenryuji Temple

  1. Petty Witter

    December 9, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Thanks for yet more lovely tranquil photos.

     
  2. Petty Witter

    December 9, 2010 at 11:40 am

    A bit off topic I know, apologies – I’ve been trying to track you down on FB but to no avail. If you’d like to become a FB friend you might like to try clicking on the FB icon on my page. I’d love to be able to contact you there as well.

     
  3. Jen C.

    December 13, 2010 at 3:25 am

    I think that’s one of the things I love most about Kyoto. There are just so many great places to go and just sit and enjoy your surroundings. I think the people who built these temples and gardens really knew what touches the soul the best. It’s really great that you enjoyed being there. I also think that it was really nice of that teenage boy for checking the flea market for you.

     
  4. Holly

    December 18, 2010 at 9:13 am

    That is a gorgeous place! How lovely that you were able to stay and enjoy it in peace. And what a nice boy. I love it when people go out of their way to help travellers.

     

Leave a Reply

