RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

10 Dec


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

When I was in Japan, I was hot to have some indigo dyed fabric. I love fabric in general, and Japanese indigo is very valuable because it strengthens the fabric, makes it insect repellent and is so beautiful.

Now, if I did splurge and buy a length of fabric, I would have problems cutting it up, to make something out of it.

When I was at Abeke House, there were four Japanese ladies traveling together. They were very kind to me, including me in the conversation, making sure I understood what I needed to, praising me for knowing how to eat a whole fish and use chopsticks, making jokes and being excellent companions.

Earlier, I had given my host a gift of Kona coffee. I heard one of the four ladies say in Japanese – Kona kohi -(koh-hee  – sp?) . By her animation, I could tell she appreciated it’s great taste. So I gave them a bag of Kona coffee too.

She then gave me this:

It’s a piece of indigo made into a tissue holder and the opening is shaped like a cat. I love it.

The inside is lined with a piece of recycled kimono silk.

Now I have a piece of indigo fabric, I don’t have to decide what to make with it and it reminds me of one of my favorite evenings.

What is one of your favorite gifts?

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2010 in Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Jackie B Central Texas

    December 10, 2010 at 10:55 am

    One of my all time favorite gifts was given to me by my husband when we were dating.. He bought me flavored lip glosses in a Crayon Box that were shaped like Crayons from Avon, I still remember how special it made me feel because he got the present just “because” and not to celebrate any particular day… I also liked the “Red Rose” he cut from his neighbors rose bush but we won’t tell anyone about that one! LOL

    That little piece of fabric you received already made up and useful is cool, nice that you got to visit a culture where the giving and getting of a gift is a special thing for all involved!

    jackie >_<

     
  2. YOU

    December 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I was an avid rock collector just because they were everywhere and I could take a rock home with me if I ever went anywhere so I could always remember. And my boyfriend got me a little rock with the words ‘Hope’ inscribed on one side and a stick figure holding a star. It’s one of my favorites even though I dont have my rock collection anymore! and I’ve kept it for about 4 years and we’ve been together for about 6.

    And you’re right about the fabric reminding you of things, that’s the best part! ❤

     
  3. Susan

    December 11, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Wow, what a great gift. I once saw a documentary on making Japanese indigo. It was really fascinating.

     
  4. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    December 11, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    That’s an awesome gift! Now you can enjoy it and not think about cutting anything.

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

     
  5. Jen C.

    December 13, 2010 at 3:28 am

    Wow, what a great memento of your trip! I think that it’s great that you got to meet and converse with them. I find that Japanese people are quite friendly, don’t you think?

     
  6. Jb

    December 13, 2010 at 5:29 am

    I haven’t had too much time to look at all your posts about Japan, but the pictures I have gotten to see are just beautiful…so peaceful. Your pictures would make a wonderful coffee table book!

     
  7. Erika

    December 13, 2010 at 11:43 am

    That is a really sweet gift. The fabric is gorgeous.

     
  8. Holly

    December 18, 2010 at 8:59 am

    What a lovely travel story! I still have this bookmark that a Canadian woman I met in Mexico City gave me. We were staying at the same hostel. I love stories like that, and little things to remember people by.

     

Leave a Reply

