RSS

How To Make A Candy Lei

13 Dec

For other lei, see pikake, braided, spiral, or eyelash lei. This photo shows what we will be making in this post.

You don’t have to be Hawaiian to make a candy lei. You don’t even have to use candy.

*

For my grandchildren this Christmas, I got some gum, fruit leather and trail mix to make lei for them. Small wrapped candies work well. So do small toys like matchbox cars.

The trail mix I got as  a healthier choice don’t work out. The packages are too big.

*

To make these lei you will need:

plastic wrap

candy, gum, toys or other small items.

ribbon

tape

scissors

measuring tape or stick.

*

Start with a 40 to 44 inch piece of plastic wrap. You want the lei to end up about 36 inches.

Lay the items face down and fold the wrap over them.

Start twisting in between items.

Cut pieces of ribbon or yarn about 12″.

Use these to tie between items. Turn the items face up and have the bows on the front side.

Twist the ends together. Tape if necessary.

The gum boxes were harder to twist around because of the rigid corners and size. For these, I tied in between boxes without twisting.

Tie a pretty bow at the joining and just add child.

*

You can tailor the items in the lei to the child’s preferences. You can use pretty hair clips in between items.

*

Aloha.

What would you put in a lei?

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2010 in Abundance, How to

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “How To Make A Candy Lei

  1. Erika

    December 13, 2010 at 11:58 am

    What a fun and cool idea for kids! Thank you!

     
  2. Thea Phipps

    December 13, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Mmmmm…. Chocolate 🙂 That’s what I would put in a lei. Those individually wrapped truffles.

     
  3. Petty Witter

    December 14, 2010 at 3:35 am

    What a great idea. I would have loved to have tried this out at the school were I worked – something different from the usual offerings of a cottonwool snowman card and a candle made with the inner tube of toilet rolls and crepe paper. I’d make mine a mixture of candied fruits, chocolate and candy with more chocolate for mine and more of the healthy option for the kidddies – I’m only thinking of their teeth, honest.

     
  4. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    December 14, 2010 at 5:43 am

    My husband is a big fan of fruit roll ups – I think fruit by the foot would work nicely. Cute idea!

     
  5. Jen C.

    December 15, 2010 at 3:34 am

    That’s such a cool idea! I’ve never had a candy lei before but I have seen them around when I lived in the States. Sounds pretty easy to make and they would make great stocking stuffers 🙂

     
  6. ~ifer

    December 15, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Here you are! Did you move your blog? I got to thinking to myself that surely you were back from your trip by now, and then I followed the link from your comment and found you here. This is a different site, isn’t it? I am not going crazy?

     
  7. Holly

    December 18, 2010 at 8:56 am

    What a cute idea! I love the idea of using hair clips.

     
  8. make money promote your business get all the help you need to succeed for free

    July 21, 2012 at 1:09 am

    I’m no longer positive the place you’re getting your information, however great topic. I must spend some time finding out more or working out more. Thank you for fantastic info I used to be searching for this information for my mission.

     
  9. blogger customization

    May 6, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I just like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and test again right here frequently. I am slightly certain I’ll be informed many new stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

     
  10. massive income machine scam

    July 28, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Hurrah! In the end I got a webpage from where I know
    how to truly take useful information concerning my study and knowledge.

     

Leave a Reply

