RSS

TRAVEL JAPAN- Flea Market

15 Dec

The next place I went, on my second day in Japan was to the Toji flea market at Tenryuji Temple.

My camera battery died, so I am grateful for the photographers at Flikr who allow use of their photos.

Don’t you love the search for a bargain?

Photo by MShades

It’s a joy to me to quickly scan the offerings, looking for ‘gold’. I was not prepared for the size of this market. It was huge. First off, I found a stand with fabrics. Fabric, stationery and art all turn me on.

Much of the fabric offered, is similar to what is available in the US. So, I headed for used kimonos and Japanese fabrics. It’s a good place for that and used kimonos are duty free.

Photo by MShades

I loved looking at Japanese pottery and antique items.

Photo by MShades

I wish I saw these little lanterns. My husband collects them for the garden.

Having to transport purchases home rules out getting any heavy items. At many business establishments, they will ship your purchases to either the airport or back to the states; but they don’t ship here from the flea market.

It is a good place to get tea. When I went to France, it seemed to me that even the cheapest red wine tasted great. My experience has been that green tea in Japan all tastes excellent to me. I bring home lots of loose tea. At one stand, I asked if they had any decaffeinated tea, (for evening drinking). No one at the stand spoke English. One man with twinkling eyes, pointed to a green package and popped his eyes open, extra wide. Then he pointed to an orange colored bag and folded his hands under his cheek and closed his eyes as if asleep.

I laughed and took one of each package.

The orange colored bag contains a twig tea and I love it. I’ll be sorry to see it all go.

I found an old wooden abacus, but the seller was asleep. I told myself IF it cost 500 yen or less and IF the item was still there when I was leaving I would buy it.

Here it is. It came home with me. I like these for the grandchildren.

 

There are many food vendors too. I bought some chicken on a stick.

Photo by np&djjewell

It was fun to try on some clothes. I found a knitted shawl I liked. Most Japanese clothes are small for me.

Photo by np&djjewell

Last trip to Japan, I wanted a wooden covered circular box that they have in the ryokans. It holds everything you need to make your tea except the hot water. The rooms have a water heater of some type or they give you a vacuum pot of hot water.

I was so happy to find this one.

What is your favorite bargain that you’ve found?

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in Abundance, Japan

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “TRAVEL JAPAN- Flea Market

  1. ~ifer

    December 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I love reading of your travels… I have to go back and get caught up on the ones you have posted so far.
    And the abacus… my, my does that bring back memories. When I was a child, even though I went to the Army school there, we learned about the abacus, and we were taught how to use one. I used to be very good at using them…. I remember this blue plastic one I used to have, with white plastic beads. My mother had an oversized wooden one with wood beads as well…
    Fond memories… thank you for reminding me of them.

     
    • ~ifer

      December 15, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      oh, and while looking online for one to purchase, I saw the word soroban, and it brought me back again 🙂

       
  2. Petty Witter

    December 16, 2010 at 12:57 am

    I also collect boxes so would be very tempted by these beautiful examples. Shame on the airlines for making it so difficult for us to bring back little knickknacks. I know we have suitcases but having had a case lost I’m now wary of putting any such things in anything other than my hand luggage.

     
  3. Holly

    December 18, 2010 at 8:52 am

    What gorgeous travel photos! I love the tea story with the decaffeinated green tea.

     

Leave a Reply

