RSS

3 A.M. Thoughts

20 Dec

Photo by smoorenburg

Do you ever wake up in the wee hours, and you have fully formed thoughts about something? I woke up this morning thinking of a woman who commissioned me to do a portrait of her son. She commissioned me many years ago in the 80’s. I was doing portraits in various media. I have a knack for getting a likeness.

*

This woman came to me and handed me a few snapshots of a boy with a baseball cap on and his face was in shadow. She told me these were the only recent pictures she had of her son and now he was dead. He died in a car accident. She thought if I could do a portrait of him, she would like to have it to look at.

*

She came back to see how it was going. No she said,

it doesn’t look like him.

She carefully explained how he looked.  I redid it a few times. I would have given a lot to be able to satisfy her. My heart went out to her. But, I seemed unable to do so.

*

Finally, in desperation, one night I said,

Okay _____(Her son’s name), please help me. Your mother wants this and I’d like to oblige.

*

Next time she came by, she exclaimed,

That’s him! That’s his eyes and he’s looking at me.

We both cried.

*

I do believe I had help and I am grateful.

<p> © 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved. </p>

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “3 A.M. Thoughts

  1. blkdrama

    December 21, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Yes, absolutely but nothing as dramatic as your story 🙂
    Bonnie

     
  2. ~ifer

    December 21, 2010 at 4:05 am

    My fully formed thoughts (and blog posts) come to me as I try to fall asleep at night, especially on the nights where I have insomnia. I lie awake in bed, writing in my head the most beautiful posts, the most thought provoking statements. The next morning when I sit down at the computer to blog, I can’t remember what it was that I said to myself the night before. This is one of the reasons I told my husband I would love to own a netbook (a mini laptop), so I could just grab it while I am in bed and blog when I am in the zone.
    All that to say this… yes, I do have fully formed thoughts at odd times.

     
  3. Cherylann

    December 21, 2010 at 6:45 am

    yeah a few times, even some memories like your own that are so vivid it feels like I am reliving them. I am glad he came to help you for his mother’s sake. Goddess bless

     
  4. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    December 21, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I think you must have had help. What a neat story.

     
  5. Holly

    January 6, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Sometimes, asking for help will get you a long way. What a beautiful story!

     

Leave a Reply

