RSS

Gifts

22 Dec

Lately, I’ve read a few blog posts about the crappy gifts people have received.

It makes me nervous. The only thing worse than getting a crappy gift is being the one who gave one.

I have been that one sometimes.

I love gifts – giving and receiving. I love thinking about what a person wants and trying to provide it.

One of my favorite gifts ever was a blue plastic child’s ring. I was a divorced adult when I received it.

I wanted very much to be married again and was not finding THE ONE for me.

I believe I know the person who got the gift for me. She was charged with buying gifts for about ten people on a very limited amount of money – think dollar store shopping.

She was hovering around when I opened it. It might have cost under a dollar. She added a Chinese yo-yo with it. I didn’t care about the yo-yo but that ring was the perfect gift for me.

I have small fingers and the ring would only fit on my left hand. I took that to mean, it was a precursor to a wedding ring. It was heart shaped and the blue plastic was beautiful. I have long preferred a colored stone to a clear diamond.

Photo by Evil Erin

I wore that ring until the plastic band cracked and pinched me.

When a gift is chosen with heart, you can’t go wrong. Something magical happens.

Have your best Christmas ever!

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Gifts

  1. Jackie B Central Texas

    December 22, 2010 at 2:09 am

    My best and worst gifts seem to be the same thing, books given to me…. My mother is a lovely lady with a heart of gold but has no idea of my reading tastes so when she has bought me books in the past it was with love . (I of course smiled and accepted them whether they were something I would read or not)

    I never did read some of them and others to my surprise turned out to be pretty good, just goes to show sometimes when you get a gift you do not like rather than complaining make the best of it and it might not be so bad!

    Of course as a teenager in the late 70’s the worst was clothing, we won’t go there! LOL

    jackie >_<

     
  2. ~ifer

    December 23, 2010 at 6:55 am

    I would rather receive the wrong gift, purchased with the right heart, than to receive the best gift in the world from someone who couldn’t care less. It truly is the thought that counts.

     
  3. Holly

    January 6, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Love your gift wrapping!

    I think the only way someone can give a bad gift is if they put absolutely no thought into it whatsoever. Just went out and bought something without caring.

    I try to listen to people throughout the year when they mention scents or colors that they like, and I make note in my Outlook contact for them. That way, it makes gift buying easier.

    One thing I prefer is to buy spontaneous gifts when I come across something that is perfect for someone. I really dislike the obligation of buying for holidays and birthdays. I know that is the norm for most people, but I think surprise gifts are much more fun.

     

Leave a Reply

