RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY — Christmas Creche

23 Dec


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

When my mother was alive, she asked me what I wanted of hers. I asked for the Christmas creche. It belonged to my grandmother.

When I was a child I spent many happy hours playing with baby Jesus and the Holy family and the other figures.

*

When I got married and didn’t have a nativity scene, I made one out of fabric. The good news was my children could play with it and not break it.

*

About 15 years ago, my mother mailed me the creche and the statues. They were so beat up and chipped. There were about 5 or 6 wise men, because over the years we had gotten replacement sets.

*

I laughed when I saw the figures and I bought a new set made out of resin. I still have a wise man with a broken hand, but the rest are intact.

Over the years I collected a nativity scenes. Once, I brought a set to a workshop as decoration. A school age girl was there. She was drawn to the nativity scene. Like me at that age, she had a real baby brother. I asked her if she had a nativity scene at home. She said no, so I gave the one she admired to her and her family. I imagined her having fun playing with them like I did.

*

Last year, I met a lady who collects nativity scenes, and she had the same creche. She said it was from 1905 or 1910. That’s about when my grandmother got married.

*

It’s the only one I have now. When I moved I didn’t bring the others with me. I treasure it and my memories of my family.

Have your best Christmas ever!

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 23, 2010 in Abundance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

