RSS

Book Review – A TIME TO GRIEVE by Carol Staudacher.

28 Dec

A few days ago I woke in the wee hours with a lot of anxiety, think terror. I realized it was about not wanting to lose my loved ones and have to go through the pain of grieving. My ego tries to protect me, by suggesting that I not love anyone and save myself that pain. I did try that, when I was young and it didn’t work. I think our nature at it’s most basic, is loving.

A psychology professor sent me a book, after my second brother died. It’s called A TIME TO GRIEVE -Meditations for healing after the death of a loved one, by Carol Staudacher.

TITLE: A TIME TO GRIEVE -Meditations for healing after the death of a loved one.

AUTHOR: Carol Staudacher

PUBLISHER: HarperOne; 1 edition (July 8, 1994)

Paperback: 256 pages

PRICE: $14.99

In it she states many common feelings people grieving have and then a quote. She continues the page with a meditation about that issue.

Here are two quotes that stood out to me.

Grief itself is a medicine. by William Cowper.

He had ceased to meet us in particular places, in order to meet us everywhere. by C.S. Lewis.

I like to think that my departed loved ones are with me in my heart. It helps me to think that when they die they become omnipresent to me.

Anyway, the book is a blessing to anyone grieving. It was and is to me.

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2010 in Book Review, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Book Review – A TIME TO GRIEVE by Carol Staudacher.

  1. ~ifer

    December 29, 2010 at 4:31 am

    Your comment about your ego telling you not to love anyone so that you don’t get hurt reminds me of a phenomenon that I saw often growing up in military families. It was very common, in the months just prior to moving again, for a child to suddenly pick fights with all their best friends, to alienate everyone that was close to them. I can remember doing that as a child too. It is a self-defense mechanism, a belief that if I go ahead and sever ties NOW, on my terms, then it won’t hurt when I have to leave. But like you said, it never works. It still hurts.

     
  2. Jb

    December 29, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I have been getting those feelings of anxiety more and more all the time. I don’t know why they are becoming more frequent. I guess it’s because I know how lucky I have been. I’ve only ever lost two important people and they were both of an appropriate age to depart so it was probably easier to accept. But I’m anticipating and dreading the inevitable…my grandmother and even my parents. The crazy thing is that I even dread times that are hopefully a long way off…like my 2-year old dog or my spouse who is only 43.
    I like your thought that they become omnipresent. I will try to keep that one in mind. Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

