RSS

What do Japan and the New year have in common?

31 Dec

Ever since the first time I went to Japan, I have wanted to start a New Year’s tradition for myself.

This is the first year, (ten years later), that I have done it.

I was told that in Japan, it is customary to clean out all your closets and cabinets before the New Year. That way you don’t bring anything unwanted from the old year with you.

This is my most used kitchen cabinet.

Before

After

Not so much different. I wanted dramatic change. (sigh)

Now, I’m off to tackle the under the stairs closet. It has big sliding doors where I hide, sew.

Before

After

And the other side:

Before

After

A lady I know who does feng shui said my energy would rise as I cleaned. It is true. I accomplished so much yesterday.

Have your best year ever!

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2010 in How to, Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “What do Japan and the New year have in common?

  1. ~ifer

    January 1, 2011 at 5:20 am

    Have you ever done that tradition where you paint the first eye on the little figurine as you make a wish for the new year, and then paint the second eye when that wish is fulfilled?

     
  2. Rachel Cotterill

    January 3, 2011 at 12:41 am

    You have a great sewing hideaway 🙂 Congrats on all the clearing up!

     
  3. Jen C.

    January 4, 2011 at 1:24 am

    Happy New Year’s! I actually think you did a wonderful job with the cleaning and organizing. I wish I can clean and organize as efficiently as you do but I every time I clean, I make a bigger mess than before.

     
  4. Holly

    January 6, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Very impressive! Cleaning and reorganizing can be so satisfying. I move so frequently that things don’t seem to accumulate much, and luckily we have far more storage space in this flat than possessions.

     
  5. Holly

    January 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Just to add…at one point when I lived in Mexico, I had a stone floor in my home. The whole thing was stone, and sand would get tracked it and it was a pain to sweep because the stones were uneven. Whenever I got to sweeping it out, it was such a satisfying feeling. I loved it!

     
  6. Anonymous

    December 30, 2011 at 6:25 am

    feng shui is chinese.

     
    • Anonymous

      December 30, 2011 at 10:01 pm

      Oh thanks, that explains why I never found feng shui influences in the harmony of Japan.

       

Leave a Reply

