RSS

A Handwork Meditation.

03 Jan

Have you ever gotten the handwork bug? If you do handwork, are there times when you just can’t do enough of it?

I have been bitten big time. It started before the holidays which seemed normal enough. I love to give a little handmade something to people at Christmas. Last year I gave everyone dishcloths that I crochet.

This year I started making dude hats. I love them and made all colors. It’s great for using up small amounts of leftover yarn. I let the grandkids pick what colors they wanted. I kept trying them on, hoping I looked ‘cool.’ My husband kept shaking his head, no it’s not working.

My granddaughter put one on and looked so cute. I see her in pictures back home and she is still wearing them.

My sister sent photos and I see she wore one at the back of her head and looked excellent. I tried it and I think I look better, but it is not the dudette look, you get when you wear it down to your eyebrows.

The bug continues. I started thinking I would give everyone homemade gifts from now on. So I went to the store and got some fabric to make a kimono. It is gorgeous – hand painted. Then I realized this cost more than if I just sent a check and that way it wouldn’t be the wrong size or color. 😦

I am working on baby blankets – two new babies coming that I know of. I don’t know what sex they are so I’d like to make two pink and two blue and be ahead.

Throw blankets for a bride and groom. Can you tell I love this knit on the diagonal pattern –  tres easy.

A crochet blanket for a grandson, to match his room colors.

crochet blanket

And a granddaughter.

Another granddaughter got a new bigger bed.

And a grandson asked for this Harry Potter panel to be made into a quilt with silver and gold. His room has a space theme. I don’t do quilts because I can easily make them cattywompus. To make them neat and match up is a challenge to me. But I am working it for him.

The mediation part comes in because I work in a zen like state and send good vibes to the person who will receive the gift. (Must avoid the crazies over quilting!) I think it gives me a sense of purpose. I pray for my loved ones anyway. This way I am accomplishing something while I pray.

What is your favorite handmade gift?

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2011 in Abundance, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “A Handwork Meditation.

  1. blkdrama

    January 3, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    That’s great! I used to do needlepoint and then counted cross stitch and then I moved to learning classical guitar and clicking away on my computer. No more time left, but I love you new passion,
    bonnie

     
  2. Cherylann

    January 3, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I love to get dishcloths. You got to show me how to do that diagonal. I started a throw blanket which I’m knitting left to right and back again. Its about 80 stitches each way and I am finding it very difficult to work with.

     
  3. Jen C.

    January 4, 2011 at 1:22 am

    Oh I get bitten by the handwork bug all the time! I use to crochet and knit all the time until I went a little overboard during my pregnancy and my hands started to ache from all the things I made. These days, I’ve discovered a new love with using the sewing machine and I can’t stop myself from making bags and pouches for people. 🙂

     
  4. Petty Witter

    January 5, 2011 at 10:27 am

    How lovely. The HP quilt is gorgeous and even more so because it is made with such love and dedication. My mam is a knitter and my nana did crochet work. My favourite hand made gift is a qult my nana made for my bed using wool all the colours of the rainbow.

     
  5. Holly

    January 6, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    I love how you’ve been bit by the creative bug! I so want to make a blanket, but I haven’t yet found a yarn store here and I need to look online. I have such fond memories of my mother’s crocheted blankets from when I was a kid. Even our dog had one for his bed.

     

Leave a Reply

