RSS

TRAVEL JAPAN — Toyoko Inn Shijo Omiya

17 Jan

When I arrived at my hotel in Kyoto, the lady who checked me in asked if I was familiar with their key system. When I said no, she showed me a display and stuck the key fob into an angled slot. Okay “whatever, ‘ I thought.

I took the key and went up to my room, happy and tired. I used the key to open the door and went inside. It was pitch black. I couldn’t get any of the lights to work. I propped the door open for some light and set about trying all the switches in every different configuration I could think of.

Pushing aside feelings of helplessness and failure that pecked at me, I knew there must be some simple explanation, some simple trick to it, like trying to work a computer. Once you know it, it’s easy.

There was an angled slot on the wall and it had a tiny indicator light on it. It was the same as the display at the front desk. I stuck the fob in and voila – lights.

Instantly I went from feeling inadequate to adequate. Life is good. I can do this – get into my hotel room.

This is the Western style room I stayed in at Kyoto.

<p> © 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved. </p>

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Abundance, How to, Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “TRAVEL JAPAN — Toyoko Inn Shijo Omiya

  1. picperfic

    January 17, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    haha…well done!

     
  2. joann mannix

    January 17, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    I would still be sitting in the dark because I’m not very good at figuring things out. Good job!

     
  3. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    January 18, 2011 at 7:06 am

    I’m terrible with keys. Those credit card type ones at hotels really mess me up. That’s why I’ll never travel without my husband!

     
  4. Jen C.

    January 18, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    The first time I encountered that at a hotel here, I was the same way! If you think about it, though, it’s quite an ingenious way to save on electricity when you’re not in the room….especially since you have to take your key with you!

     
    • purplume

      January 20, 2011 at 8:31 am

      It is ingenious Jen, you’re right. And if I paid more attention or asked why she was showing me the slot at check in, I could have been on top of it. XD

       

Leave a Reply

