RSS

TRAVEL JAPAN — Sanjusangen-do Temple

26 Jan

Day three in Japan, I took a bus. I’m the kind of person who would walk 5 miles rather than take a bus when I don’t know how to do it. It was less than 5 miles but the tour group gave me such good instructions I figured I could do it. You board the bus in the rear and there are signs in English and Japanese that tell the name of the stop. When you get off you pay 220 yen. I did try to put the money in the wrong place but the driver stopped me and showed me.

So feeling encouraged that I could manage a city bus, I went to Sanjusangendo temple.

I love to be there.

The gardens have wheelchair paths.

You can write a prayer on a piece of paper and tie it here. You can also burn incense or light a candle which reminds me of my Catholic days.

But the really big deal for me is the sense of overwhelming compassion, created by being in a football field size room filled with over 1000 golden statues of Kannon, the goddess of mercy. It makes me realize that however challenging things are, there is more than enough mercy to handle it. It fills you with awe. Photographs are not allowed. I don’t think they could do it justice.

Last time I bought my nearly impossible to buy a gift for husband, a Buddhist prayer for health. He kept it so this time I got him one for energy and I forget, well being maybe?

In 2003 I got myself a prayer for relief of headaches. I gave it to my daughter because I don’t often have headaches anymore, I’m just saying.

I love the idea that a person can create a place designed to invoke a response. It makes me want to make my garden invoke peace or at least neatness.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2011 in Abundance, Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “TRAVEL JAPAN — Sanjusangen-do Temple

  1. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    January 27, 2011 at 4:35 am

    Buses are very scary for me too! The prayer garden sounds like a lovely place. I hope it gives people some peace and maybe even the answers they’re looking for.

     
  2. Petty Witter

    January 27, 2011 at 5:39 am

    I love to travel by public transport in other countries, its such a wonderful adventure. Sad to say that with the crutches and the wheelchair this isn’t always practical let alone possible now.

    What a beautiful temple, so clean, it looks very peaceful.

     
  3. joann mannix

    January 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Mass transportation in foreign countries always scares me, but my husband is an adventurer, so we always take the subway, the bus, the train. And it is always an adventure, usually a crazy one.

    Those gardens are beautiful. And I love the prayers for healing. I have great faith in their ability.

     
  4. Rachel Cotterill

    January 27, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Gorgeous! It looks really like the temples we saw in China … not sure why I expected them to be more different.

     
  5. Jen C.

    January 28, 2011 at 4:39 am

    What’s funny about the buses in Kyoto is that the boarding is completely different from Tokyo. In Tokyo, we board from the front of the bus and pay as we get on the bus. The first time we went to Kyoto, we got confused since they entered from the back and pay as you got off 🙂 I always found it amusing how different two parts of one country can be!

    I love going to Sanjusangen-do! It’s such an amazing place. The 1000 statues of Kannon is quite impressive and while walking through, you can’t help but feel very spiritual and in tune with so many things, right?

     

Leave a Reply

