RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

28 Jan


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

Five things that I feel happy about this week are:

1. 50% of my husband’s co-workers were laid off last Friday and he wasn’t. Hurray! I like the lifestyle he spoils me with.

2. I won two books from Dollycas‘s Thoughts. She does a lot of book reviews and has a lot of giveaways. She also is interesting, kind, thoughtful and one of my favorite bloggers. She has so many giveaways, I knew I was going to win sometime. Yay!

3. My grandaughter’s room is zebra and pink. When I found some zebra yarn I had to make her a blanket. Did you know there are lots of how to’s about fixing dropped stitches and they all talk about stitches you drop and find while you are knitting. I found my dropped stitches after I nearly finished a full size blanket. One thing I love about knitting is the uniform look of the stitches. Mine were out of uniform. After I repaired them, they were glaring mistakes to me.

Since I’m more of a salvage things rather than take them apart and redo them kind of person, I decided to crochet chains the length of the blanket where the mistakes were.

A new design. Once I crochet a border, it will be done. Yay!

4. I ‘took offense’ from an acquaintance of mine. Clearly she was in error, until I looked closely. When I am in a good place, nothing bothers me. I realize I needed to fill me up. Now I’m grateful that it came up as a reminder to me.

5. Two of my favorite blog writers shared about feeling inadequate. They are people who write very well and give me a challenge not to  compare myself  with them. I would lose in all the areas they are so excellent at. It would never occur to me that they could feel that way. Another ‘lightbulb moment’ reminder to me. I am excellent at being me. Am I using the word excellent too much, that’s what we people who used to be hung up on perfection use instead of perfectionist terms. Muhaha.

Did you have an excellent week?

<p> © 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved. </p>

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in Abundance

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY

  1. Jen C.

    January 28, 2011 at 4:43 am

    That’s great that your husband didn’t get layed off! My dad was laid off recently and he’s going through some hard times trying to find another job at his age. It’s tough seeing him struggle while competing against newly graduated college kids. Glad that you don’t have to watch your husband go through something like that too.

    I’ve had a difficult week since E was sick for most of it but I think it’s getting a lot better. Looking forward to a better week next week 🙂

     
  2. Dollycas

    January 28, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Thank you so much for the kind shout out!!!! I am blushing and also happy you won!! I am so glad for the randomizer thing because I want to share my books with everyone.

    Glad you husband was spared in the layoff, times are supposed to be getting better but I am scared about a lot of things happening in the world.

    The blanket is gorgeous!!!

    Dollycas/Lori

     
  3. picperfic

    January 29, 2011 at 3:40 am

    Oh my, the thought of my husband losing his job fill me with dread, but hurrah for your good luck in that department..

    I love your Zebra blanket and the clever way you hid the errors that probably only you would notice!

     
  4. Sandra

    January 29, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    You have got to be one of the most inspiring and thoughtful bloggers out there.
    The zebra blanket is fantastic!
    And thank goodness your hubby wasn’t laid off. I just came from Linda Medrano’s blog, and she was writing about how she met a homeless man while she was waiting for her bus. He used to be a horse trainer, then had a string of bad luck. It really made me realize how precarious life is, especially in the US right now with the economy.
    Take care!

     
  5. tattytiara

    January 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I totally hear you on the reminders. Great blanket!

     
  6. joann mannix

    January 30, 2011 at 7:05 am

    HUGE fist pump to you and your husband. I love to hear news like that in these dark times, which I say will someday in retrospect be called, The Second Great Depression.

    Please post photos of your zebra blanket. I am in complete awe of anyone with that sort of amazing talent.

    And I’m not going to be cocky enough to think you’re referring to me, but the outpouring of “me too” comments I received on my truthy post, filled me with such comfort that even the best of writers feel that way sometimes. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who gets crippled in self doubt. I am going to try very hard to be excellent at being me.

     
    • purplume

      February 2, 2011 at 8:11 am

      Umm, it was you Joann. Thanks for sharing. It comforted me too. I guess I was putting you on a pedestal because it’s easy to see your excellence.

       
  7. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    January 30, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    I did have an excellent week. What a relief about your husband!

     
  8. Holly

    February 1, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Excellent week!

    And congrats on the Dollycas books!

    I love the zebra blanket! I would love to knit a blanket some day. I like the way you found a creative solution to fix the dropped stitches.

    Don’t you love those awareness reminders that invite us to look more closely at something?

    Excellent is a wonderful word. I use it a lot, too.

    Happy week!

     

Leave a Reply

