RSS

How To Look Like A Geisha

07 Feb

When I left Sanjusangen-do Temple, I heard a clear loud voice chanting. It was this monk.

He goes at a fast clip.

Really fast.

I guess he goes around the perimeter of his temple complex and chants to protect the area. I enjoyed hearing it as I set off to find the Studio Shiki where I had an appointment at a –

Long-established photo shop specializing in Maiko/Geiko Transformation.

I wanted to walk because the last time I went to Japan, (for three weeks), I came home with 1 and 1/2 inches less around my waist. And that was after eating everything I wanted. So, my plan was to walk as much as possible.

I could have ridden, the streets were very steep. I went up and down the hillside a lot trying to find the place.

There were lots of students in this area, visiting the temples. Some classes wear matching hats.  It seems to make it easy for the teachers to find them.

There were lots of interesting shops along the way.

Finally I thought I found the place but it was one of their multiple sites. They sent me off to the one my appointment was with. Being compulsively early, I still arrived in time. I wonder sometimes if my compulsive earliness allows time for getting lost and if I was at the last minute, I could just skip the whole getting lost part.

Anyway, they were nice as could be. I was a little out of place with all the beautiful young women but my inner child was thrilled and happy.

I thought I was getting their Sakura plan – called their reasonable package for 6,500 yen but What I got cost 9,500 yen, (about $115). My lack of command of Japanese prevented me from knowing why.

There are additional charges for tabi socks, eyelashes and using your own hair. They will style and spray your hair dark if needed. I chose to use their wig.

Some women I heard of, kept the makeup on when they left. That would be fun, especially if you had your own long hair styled, but I chickened out had places to go after and washed it all off.

In this post, I showed pictures the photographer took with my camera. I was alone and would have tried taking some long arm shots with my own camera, but the photog kindly took as many as I wanted after my studio session.

You get to choose what color kimono and obi you wear. I was surprised that the white face makeup has a lot of pink in it and they use red around your eyes and eyebrows, in with the dark color. I felt like a princess being dressed by my ladies in waiting. Can you tell I enjoyed it?

And now without further ado, my studio shots.

Would you do this?

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2011 in Abundance, Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “How To Look Like A Geisha

  1. ~ifer

    February 7, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    In. a. heartbeat.

     
  2. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    February 7, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    If I was in Japan, I think I would. I might have to to celebrate the loss of the 1.5 inches!

     
  3. Pepper Smith

    February 7, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Very nice shots. That must have really been fun.

     
  4. Jen C.

    February 8, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Wow, those are incredible looking 🙂 I think you look so adorable in them! Some of the shots of you farther away actually makes you look a little bit Japanese. You are quite brave to have had this done even with your limited Japanese. I’ve never took these kinds of pictures and had never thought about getting it done even though I live here. Maybe one day…

    I love how you had a chance to do so much exploring and walking around Kyoto. It’s such a great place to get lost in because there are always so many amazing things you can find in the small streets. Glad you had a lot of fun!

     
  5. Petty Witter

    February 8, 2011 at 5:48 am

    How stunning are those studio shots. Would I do this? Just you try to stop me.

     
  6. Sandra

    February 8, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Totally would do that.
    And it’s funny because the pic of that Asian fellow clipping along…well, it really looks like he’s clipping along alright! Kind of funny!

     
  7. YOU

    February 9, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Looks amazing. Japan is so full and rich in culture, I too would gladly take part in it. The pictures look amazing

     
  8. Cris

    February 10, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    absolutely 🙂 great shots!!!

     
  9. Becky

    March 9, 2011 at 12:17 am

    Yes! What great shots. Thanks for linking up!

     

Leave a Reply

