RSS

My Favorite Tea House In All The World.

14 Feb

After my Geisha photo session, my next stop was the  Jidai Matsuri parade. I was at the far end of the parade route, and very early, so I walked toward the place the parade begins. When I got there, I was still early so I decided to stop at Somushi’s, a recommended tea house. Oh my, their link has beautiful pictures.

OMG, I am so glad I went. It is my favorite of all time. It is furnished with old Japanese mixed with contemporary wall hangings.

They had interesting teas like mugwort. I was in the mood for coffee however. I thought this cup and saucer were Bizen pottery but they are not. They gave me this name and I think it is the town they are made in -Ishii Nooto, and a business card that says Do Kka To Yu.

I love this beautiful old bill holder made of wood.

And this fabric coaster.

The checkout counter is made of stone and had this cute fabric cover.

If I could I would take my valentine here. He would like this vegetable chili. I was thrilled by the fresh taste and the variety of vegetables.

I moved a slice of lotus root to the center back of the plate so you can see it’s lacy beauty.  Under the vegetables is a mound of rice.

Enchanted, I went to check out the bathroom.

Blue ceramic urinal

The pot and scoop are to purify your hands.

Blue ceramic Japanese toilet

The bamboo pole is helpful for steadying yourself.

A beautiful old metal sink.

They have counter service and cute little tables if you like. Some are outdoors in a garden area.

I chose to sit Japanese style on the floor.

Wall hangings and antique wood adorn the place.

This one from old kimonos with Sashiko stitches, divides two areas.

I loved these beautifully sewn organza ones.

I don’t know why they have the tails? They are for sale. Maybe I could buy a small one?

Alas, too many zeros for my budget.

Well, I have my memory of this lovely place.

<p> © 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved. </p>

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Abundance, Japan, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Favorite Tea House In All The World.

  1. Petty Witter

    February 15, 2011 at 6:40 am

    How beautiful. I’d never manage in that bathroom though.

     
  2. Angela Cerrito

    February 15, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I can see why you like it — it’s beautiful!

     
  3. Jen C.

    February 17, 2011 at 3:06 am

    That is definitely a very beautiful tea house 🙂 I’m glad you had the opportunity to stop by there and experience it. I absolutely love the pottery that they used. Oh and I checked out their website and I’m definitely loving the atmosphere of the place. I’m going to have to remember to visit this place next time we visit Kyoto 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

