RSS

FEEL GOOD FRIDAY – Projections

18 Feb


The Girl Next Door Grows Up
Blog started this Feel Good Friday meme. Pick one of her prompts and write about it on your blog!

*

The thing that made me happiest this week was odd.

*

Last week I went ballistic when, in my perception, my husband negated my experience. I was raving.

Then a  writer I know, had her booklet translated into Japanese by her son’s girlfriend. Oh, I wanted that for my novel. Maybe it could be a hit in Japan. It’s about … well here’s the pitch –

Koh, is a boy kidnapped as a toddler by a rainforest band that has unique customs and world view. Koh, fascinated by strange people who live near the mountain, struggles to find where he really belongs and overcome strict taboos.

These include: remaining unseen, bypassing capture by warring bands, coping with betrayal by his peers and facing death. Eventually he comes to reunion with the family he doesn’t remember.

I didn’t even tell my husband and I went and asked the writer to ask the girlfriend if she would consider translating my book. Then I set to wondering how to pay for it, a lifetime supply of lei, my firstborn…

Alas, the girl said no; it takes too much time. She did it as a labor of love.

I wasn’t even upset, I felt elated and do you know why? Normally, I would have talked myself out of asking. I WOULD HAVE NEGATED MY DESIRE. And that is why I got so upset, when I perceived my husband as negating my experience because that’s what I do to myself. I am so happy, all I have to do is not negate myself any more and not project it on others.

Wonder what I will be like when I  deal with the gazillion other things I am projecting on him and others. : )

© 2010 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2011 in Japan, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “FEEL GOOD FRIDAY – Projections

  1. Dollycas

    February 18, 2011 at 8:41 am

    Jeanne,
    I am so proud of you!!!!!

    Dollycas

     
  2. Jackie B Central Texas

    February 18, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Jeanne you have won half the battle, you know that things are not always what they seem to be at first glance…

    TGIF and have a great weekend…

     
  3. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    February 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    It never hurts to ask. Glad you had a good result!

     
  4. Jen C.

    February 19, 2011 at 2:07 am

    I’m happy that you went and asked and didn’t talk yourself out of it. It’s always so easy for us to rationalize things and talk ourselves into believing that inaction is the best way to go. However, we end up losing great opportunities and the ability to achieve things we never thought we could. It never hurts to try or ask because there is always a chance that you would get good results, right?

     
  5. Rachel Cotterill

    February 19, 2011 at 10:06 am

    That’s such a great lesson – now, where are you going to find that translator? 😉

     
  6. Holly

    February 20, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Congratulations! That’s an important lesson to learn.
    Good luck in finding the perfect translator!

     
  7. Sandra

    February 20, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I think this is fantastic. So often we make other people’s issues our own. You clearly are not.

     
  8. Erin@MommyontheSpot

    March 4, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    I think I have been guilty of this a time or two or a gazillion.

    Wonderful post!

     

Leave a Reply

