RSS

The One Best Place To See Japanese Historical Clothing Design Paraded In Front Of You

21 Feb

Photo by Conveyor belt sushi

Next on my itinerary in Japan was to see the Jidai Matsuri Parade — The Festival Of The Ages.
It has over 2000 participants dressed in costumes from the last ten centuries in Japan.

Photo by Photo by davinelulinvega

By Conveyor belt sushi

By gintacat

by gintacat

By davinelulinvega

Truth is, after I ate at Soumushi’s, the parade was now near the far end of the route and I opted not to walk there. Instead I covered my blistered feet with band aides. That is why these photos are all from Flikr.

I saw the parade the last time I was in Japan and loved seeing all the costumes.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Japan

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “The One Best Place To See Japanese Historical Clothing Design Paraded In Front Of You

  1. Petty Witter

    February 21, 2011 at 2:48 am

    How wonderful, such vibrant colours. I especially love the picture of the carriage.

     
  2. Joey @ Big Teeth & Clouds

    February 21, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Amazing costumes! Hope your feet feel better.

     
  3. Jen C.

    February 21, 2011 at 4:33 am

    I never knew about this festival! How fantastic and fun it looks! The one that I know of that’s in Kyoto is the Gion festival that happens during the summer. I’ve always wanted to see it because it’s one of the more famous festivals in Japan.

     

Leave a Reply

