RSS

Travel Japan – Train to Adachi Museum

20 Jun

I left Kyoto on the bullet train for the Adachi Museum and Garden. By now I felt more at home on the trains. I doubled checked, while I waited on the platform and discovered in time, that I was waiting at the wrong platform.

The trains are beautiful and on time, clean and exciting. Look how pretty my rail pass is.

At Yasugi, I took a museum bus. The Adachi Museum is noted for it’s ceramics collection and it’s gardens are considered among the most beautiful in Japan. I can see why. When I arrived I stowed my backpack and camera in a locker. Surprise – they encourage you to take photos. Ah well, I bought a coffee table book instead.

It is so lovely; there is a blog post about the secret of it’s success at http://www.japanlivingarts.com/?p=4224.

I marvel at how humans and nature combine to demonstrate their best.

The museum has a restaurant. I wasn’t hungry after eating a bento box on the train. They also have a tea house looking out on a garden. I had matcha there and lingered in bliss. The presentation was peaceful, simple and very moving. My tea sweet was served with a small twig. It seemed to be pine and was carved to a point. The handle still had bark on it. It put me in one of those moments of ecstasy. The Japanese aesthetic does that to me regularly.

Being an American, I wondered if this terribly tasteful toothpick was disposable. I could not bear it, if it was to be thrown away. I brought it with me as I left, and asked the hostess, IF they were going to throw it away, could I have it?

She didn’t speak English. Her eyes widened as she understood my request and a tiny gasp escaped her lips. Flooded with embarrassment, I placed the treasure down and escaped to the Museum area where no one knew my barbaric assumptions.

© 2011 Jeanne Litt, All rights reserved.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2011 in Abundance, Japan

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Travel Japan – Train to Adachi Museum

  1. Jen C.

    June 22, 2011 at 1:55 am

    I’ve never been to this place but reading your post makes me want to visit there one day. It’s amazing how reading about your trip has given me so many new places to visit when we go to the Kansai region next time.

    I also really love how much you love Japanese aesthetics. I think it’s wonderful that you enjoy being surrounded by all that beauty and that you appreciate it so much 🙂

     
  2. Petty Witter

    June 23, 2011 at 6:01 am

    A great post, how beautiful is that bus pass.

    Yes I have been known to make ‘barbaric assumptions’ as well – you would be amazed at the things I keep as reminders of my trips. At times like this I’m almost ashamed to say that I bring the eccentric English woman into play, it really does work.

     
  3. Holly

    July 1, 2011 at 11:52 am

    So it’s a reusable toothpick? I never would have guessed!

     

Leave a Reply

