RSS

Make A Sleep Sack Scarf

20 Nov

Kyla at knitting for charity sends a weekly newsletter. A few weeks ago it mentioned Streetknit.

Here’s what they say about themselves

Every year people in Toronto freeze to death because they have nowhere to come in from the cold. We can’t knit shelter, but we can do the next best thing. We’re asking you to put your needles together and spend some time this summer knitting some warmth into a sweater, a hat, mittens, socks, or a scarf to keep someone warm this winter.

While obsessively knitting, the homeless kept coming to my mind. I thought I’d knit a scarf because it could cover the head and even the hands in a pinch. Then I thought, I would like to make it big, so it could do double duty as an individual blanket. My clever daughter, (Maggie Binzley), suggested I make it tubular and it could be a sleep sack.

So I did. Here’s my first sleep sack scarf.

sleep sack scarf

To make it, I used 100% Merino wool, 300 Gm.

Size 15 circular needle

Cast on 90 stitches. I purled the first 8 rows at each end of the scarf. All other rows are knit. Because of knitting in a circle, it makes a stockinette stitch. Sew together one end for the bottom of the sack.. The scarf is 15″ wide, (double layer) and 42″ long. Make it longer for an adult and wider if you like.

You could knit ribbing at each end if you prefer.

My next one will be crochet because I can do that faster. See here.

© 2011 Jeanne Litt

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2011 in Abundance, How to

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Make A Sleep Sack Scarf

  1. Jen C.

    November 22, 2011 at 3:11 am

    It’s great to see that you’re still blogging! I was wondering if you were doing well recently 🙂

    And my goodness! That is one amazing scarf if you can use it as a sleep sack too! I’ve never seen a scarf like that before 🙂

     
  2. Holly

    November 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Wow………love that idea! Very creative. And it’s good to see you back! I’ve been missing you. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

